Beat The Heat SAVE 25% NOW
Registered Nurse (RN)
Fundamentals of Nursing
Nursing Basics

Master Esteem with Picmonic for Nursing RN

With Picmonic, facts become pictures. We've taken what the science shows - image mnemonics work - but we've boosted the effectiveness by building and associating memorable characters, interesting audio stories, and built-in quizzing.


Recommended Picmonics

picmonic thumbnail
Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs
picmonic thumbnail
Physiological Needs
picmonic thumbnail
Safety and Security
picmonic thumbnail
Love and Belonging
picmonic thumbnail


Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs are broken down into five needs. Self-esteem needs are the fourth basic human need following physiologic, safety and security, and love and belonging. Self-esteem is based on an individual's sense of value, self-acceptance and it encourages independence. It is broken down into two categories, esteem for oneself, and the desire for reputation or respect from others. Deprivation of self-worth results from change of roles, responsibilities, relationships and body image changes. Nurses can support positive self-esteem by encouraging patient motivation. They can do this by valuing the patient’s beliefs and character, promoting attainable goals, and family support. On an exam question regarding Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs, it is important to remember that self-esteem is prioritized fourth and esteem questions can be recognized by their connection with an individual's emotions, including feelings of fear, sadness, loneliness, happiness, and acceptance of oneself.
Fourth Basic Need
(4) Fork

Self-esteem needs are the fourth priority after physiologic, safety and security, and love and belonging. An individual is unable to reach higher priorities until the lower needs are met. Self-esteem is considered the second of the higher-level needs in Maslow's hierarchy, after love and belonging. Maslow divided self-esteem into two sections, the first being esteem for oneself and the second being the aspiration for reputation or respect from others. When writing nursing exams, remember that esteem patient needs are prioritized fourth.

Esteem for Oneself
Steaming Self

The first of the two self-esteem levels is esteem for oneself, which includes dignity, success, and independence. It involves the need for a person to feel good about themselves and have a sense of accomplishment. Factors that can affect one’s esteem include changes that result in an altered body image (e.g. injury, illness, surgery, weight gain).

Reputation and Respect

The second level of self-esteem is the aspiration for reputation or respect from others. It involves the need for others to respect and appreciate one's accomplishments. Nurses can facilitate feelings of confidence, independence, and self-worth by valuing a patient's beliefs, respecting their values, and supporting the patient in establishing attainable goals.


Take the Esteem Quiz

Picmonic's rapid review multiple-choice quiz allows you to assess your knowledge.

It's worth every penny

Our Story Mnemonics Increase Mastery and Retention

Memorize facts with phonetic mnemonics

Unforgettable characters with concise but impactful videos (2-4 min each)

Memorize facts with phonetic mnemonics

Ace Your Registered Nurse (RN) Classes & Exams with Picmonic:

Over 1,910,000 students use Picmonic’s picture mnemonics to improve knowledge, retention, and exam performance.

Choose the #1 Registered Nurse (RN) student study app.

Picmonic for Registered Nurse (RN) covers information that is relevant to your entire Registered Nurse (RN) education. Whether you’re studying for your classes or getting ready to conquer your NCLEX®-RN, Hesi, ATI, TEAS test, Kaplan exams, we’re here to help.

Works better than traditional Registered Nurse (RN) flashcards.

Research shows that students who use Picmonic see a 331% improvement in memory retention and a 50% improvement in test scores.