Master Erikson’s Theory Of Psychosocial Development - Stage 4 (School Age) with Picmonic for Nursing RN

With Picmonic, facts become pictures. We've taken what the science shows - image mnemonics work - but we've boosted the effectiveness by building and associating memorable characters, interesting audio stories, and built-in quizzing.

Erikson’s Theory Of Psychosocial Development - Stage 4 (School Age)

Erik's Sons with (4) Fork
Erikson assumes that a psychosocial crisis occurs at each stage of development. Erikson believes psychological needs of an individual conflict with the needs of society. When children are 6-12 years old, at school, teachers begin to play an important role in the child's development. Erikson believes they must learn what are purposeful and meaningful activities so they can become competent, productive members of society.
School Age (6-12 Years)
School Aged Children

Erikson’s fourth stage of psychosocial development occurs during age 6-12 years old.

Industry vs. Inferiority
Industrial-building vs. In-fur

During this stage, the child will gain greater significance and self esteem, and they try to win approval from parents, teachers and authorities by demonstrating specific competencies (learned skills) they believe are valued in society. Here, industry refers to purposeful and meaningful activities. If children master this conflict then they start developing a sense of pride in their ability to accomplish things. If a child does not start to feel industrious, they will start to feel inferior compared to those around them.


At this age, children are learning to read, write, do math problems, and do more things on their own. At school and through social interactions, children develop a sense of pride in their abilities and their accomplishments.


During this stage, children will be taught specific skills, and the child is going to work towards becoming competent in those skills. Children who are encouraged and commended by parents and school teachers go on to develop a feeling of competence and confidence in themselves and their skills; overall they will start feeling industrious. Children who are not praised by their parents and teachers will doubt their ability to succeed.


The latency stage of psychosexual development is when no further psychosexual development takes place. Latent means hidden, and this stage is equivalent to sexual dormancy, or repression. The focus during this age is on school, learning skills and hobbies. During this stage, much of child’s energy is directed towards developing new skills and acquiring knowledge.

Unlock all 5 facts & definitions with Picmonic Free!

Take the Erikson’s Theory Of Psychosocial Development - Stage 4 (School Age) Quiz

Picmonic's rapid review multiple-choice quiz allows you to assess your knowledge.

It's worth every penny

Our Story Mnemonics Increase Mastery and Retention

Memorize facts with phonetic mnemonics

Unforgettable characters with concise but impactful videos (2-4 min each)

Ace Your Registered Nurse (RN) Classes & Exams with Picmonic:

Over 1,210,000 students use Picmonic’s picture mnemonics to improve knowledge, retention, and exam performance.

Choose the #1 Registered Nurse (RN) student study app.

Picmonic for Registered Nurse (RN) covers information that is relevant to your entire Registered Nurse (RN) education. Whether you’re studying for your classes or getting ready to conquer your NCLEX®-RN, Hesi, ATI, TEAS test, Kaplan exams, we’re here to help.

Works better than traditional Registered Nurse (RN) flashcards.

Research shows that students who use Picmonic see a 331% improvement in memory retention and a 50% improvement in test scores.